Local Council election – Hawkesbury

The Hawkesbury City Council election, which is being conducted by the NSW Electoral Commission, will be held on Saturday, 10 September 2016. Voting is compulsory.

On Election Day, you must vote at a polling place in your council area. There is no absentee voting at local council elections.

To find local polling places, visit the Commission’s website https://www.votensw.info/find_a_polling_place where you can view polling places on a map, or see a list of polling places in a table.

People can only pre-poll if they will not be in the local area on Election Day. Pre-polling booths are located at

 the Deerubbin Centre, 300 George Street, Windsor
 the Hawkesbury Returning Officer's Office, 303 Windsor Street, Richmond (for *pre-polling only*)
 Sydney Town Hall, 483 George Street, Sydney.

Visit the Commission’s website https://www.votensw.info/early_voting_options/find_a_pre-poll_venue for full details of opening hours and accessibility.

Further information about the election can be found on the Commission's website www.votensw.info or by calling 1300 135 736.

A Constitutional Referendum is being held in conjunction with this election regarding the Hawkesbury local government area being divided into wards. Council is currently an undivided area where 12 Councillors represent all electors.

The referendum question is: ‘Currently Hawkesbury City Council is an undivided council with no wards. Do you agree to the Hawkesbury local government area being divided into three wards, each ward electing four Councillors? ’.

Further information is available on Council’s website www.hawkesbury.nsw.gov.au.

Search Results policy sport news news hills

Recent News