Winners Announced for the 2017 Bushcare Landcare Awards

Hawkesbury City Council recently hosted the 20th Annual Bushcare and Landcare Awards to applaud the environmental volunteers of the Hawkesbury for their efforts in 2017.

The Awards were held in partnership with the Hawkesbury River County Council, Hawkesbury Environment Network, Hawkesbury Landcare Network and Greater Sydney Landcare Network and 12 awards were presented by Councillor Danielle Wheeler to many worthy and hardworking groups and individuals.

The highest honour of the night, Environmental Volunteer of the Year, was awarded to Richie Benson for his commitment to the restoration of natural areas along the Hawkesbury River via bushland regeneration and revegetation and involvement with the Hawkesbury Environment Network. This award is presented to a volunteer who shows inspiring commitment and dedication to the Hawkesbury environment.

Mr Benson’s involvement includes:

• Revegetation projects along the riverside at Cumberland Reach
• Formation of Cumberland Reach Landcare
• Hawkesbury Environment Network Committee member
• Hawkesbury Landcare Network Committee member
• Raising awareness of sites in need of urgent attention.

The Wetland Warriors were awarded the Environmental Group of the Year for their efforts in promoting the preservation and improvement of the wetlands throughout the Hawkesbury via working bees, open days and community newsletters. The group have been going strong now for more than three years and should be extremely proud for their consistency and commitment to their local environment.

Other Awards presented on the night recognised the efforts of outstanding volunteers and groups were:

• The Hawkesbury Community Nursery Green Thumb Award – Rosemary Otten
• 20 Years Long Service to Bushcare & Landcare – Eric Broken & Peter Mobbs
• 21 Years Long Service to Bushcare & Landcare – Robin Woods
• The Super Scriber Scripting Award – Viniana Vereua, Dana Pank, John Jose, Jeff, Cottrell and Robin Woods
• Rookie of the Year – Phil’s Forest Bushcare
• Landcare Buddies – Prue Gargano & Janet Fox.

The Mayor of Hawkesbury, Councillor Mary Lyons-Buckett praised all the winners and their work.

“Congratulations to all the winners of an award at the Bushcare and Landcare Awards,” the Mayor said.

“It’s important to recognise the outstanding achievements of our tireless volunteers.

“The Hawkesbury Community Nursery Volunteer Group has 20 active volunteers who grow thousands of native plants every year,” she said.

“They have also contributed over 1800 hours of voluntary work at the nursery and they all provide valuable services by protecting and enhancing our natural environment.

“I hope everyone enjoyed the awards and the Volunteer Christmas Party – my thanks to the Hawkesbury River County Council for allowing us to hold the event at the depot in South Windsor.”

Everyone is welcome to visit their local Bushcare or Landcare group as well as the Hawkesbury Community Nursery and lend a hand.

If you are interested in getting involved, contact Martin Gauci, Council’s Community Bushcare Officer on 4560 4525 [email protected] or Xuela Sledge, Local Landcare Coordinator for the Hawkesbury Landcare Network on email: [email protected] or 0410 616 139.

The Community Nursery Group meets every Wednesday at 10 Mulgrave Road, Mulgrave (next to the Hawkesbury Companion Animal Shelter) from 9am to 1pm, excluding the Christmas period.

To express your interest to join this group, email [email protected] or call 4560 4651.