Local Land Services Chair of the Board of Chairs, Tim de Mestre today formally announced the 2017 Local Land Services locally elected board member elections would be held at the end of May and called for nominations from interested ratepayers.

Local Land Services is gearing up for its second local board election in 2017 where local representatives are elected by ratepayers for each of the 11 local boards.

“The 2017 local board elections will take place on 31 May 2017, with candidate nominations open from today,” Mr de Mestre said.

“The contribution of local board members in the past three years has resulted in the delivery of high-quality, integrated services to landholders and has been important to ensure those services are in touch with the needs of local communities.”

Mr de Mestre said one of the most important aspects of the 2017 elections was giving as many ratepayers as possible the chance to have their say and Local Land Services regions had already begun a campaign to encourage ratepayers to enrol to vote.

“Enrolling and voting ensures strong local representation and helps guarantee that local boards are representing the needs of ratepayers in their regions,” he said.

“Enrolments close on 31 March 2017 to ensure that ratepayers are sent ballot papers by email if they are voting online or by post for hard copy ballot papers.”

Candidate nominations for local board members also opened today and close at 12 pm on Friday 31 March 2017.

Three of the seven local board members in 10 regions and four in the Western region are elected by Local Land Services ratepayers. The remaining members and the Chair are Ministerially-appointed.

“Together, the elected and appointed board members play an important role in setting the strategic direction of the organisation, promoting the services offered and communicating the priorities and concerns of customers to local boards,” Mr de Mestre said.

Information about the election process and an enrolment form will be posted in mid February.

Key dates:
Enrolments:                 Open now and close 5 pm 31 March 2017
Nominations:               Open now and close 12 pm 27 March 2017
Voting:                         Opens 8 May and closes 5 pm 31 May 2017
Announcement:           Board members will be announced by the end of June 2017