AllCommunity News

Hawkesbury’s Winners

There was a lot to celebrate when Hawkesbury City Council hosted the Hawkesbury Australia Day Awards at Don’t Worry Oval in Windsor today.

 Hawkesbury Mayor, Councillor Sarah McMahon congratulated all award recipients, including the 2023 Citizen of the Year – Diane Russell, the 2023 Young Citizen of the Year – 21-year-old Emily Lowe and the Community Organisation of the Year – The Hawkesbury District Agricultural Association.

Hawkesbury Australia Day Ambassador, Greg Donovan, talked about the importance of charity and being involved in the community.

Greg has dedicated himself to raising funds to help find a cure for Type 1 diabetes, and in 2012 he founded the Born to Run Foundation to inspire others to do more to help find a cure for Type 1 diabetes.

He also founded Big Red Run, Australia’s only desert running race and he founded Australia’s most remote music festival, the Birdsville Big Red Bash, which generates millions of dollars in tourism benefits for the many small outback towns.

Federal Member for Macquarie Ms Susan Templeman, State Member for Hawkesbury Ms Robyn Preston, Hawkesbury Police Area Commander Superintendent Michael Gardner, RAAF Base Richmond Air Commodore Bradley Clarke and Hawkesbury City Councillors attended the event along with the nominators, nominees, family members and friends of the award winners.

2023 Hawkesbury Australia Day Award Recipients

Diane Russell – Citizen of the Year

Emily Lowe – Young Citizen of the Year

Phillip Giles – Volunteer of the Year

Mitchell Brennan – Local Hero Award

The Hawkesbury District Agricultural Association – Community Organisation of the Year

Michael Payne – Special Achievement Award

Noah Kemp – Junior Person Sports of the Year

The Hawkesbury City Eisteddfod Society – Community Arts Award

All Winners Hawkesbury’s Winners

Related Articles

Back to top button