AllBev JordanCommunity News

Police Award Winners

Police Award Winners
Winners of the hills police area command awards with castle hill rotary president amanda firkins, castle hill mp mark hodges, chief insp jason mcsweeney and rotarian lisa pelayo.

Police Officer of the Year Awards 2023

TiK Tok sensation and Hills Youth liaison officer Snr Constable Ethan West was named Hills Area Police Command winner of the Irene Juergens APM Fellowship at a recent dinner to celebrate Excellence in Policing organised by the Rotary Club of Castle Hill.

At Hawkesbury Police Area Command the Bryson Anderson Police Officer of the Year Award was presented to Constable James de Canto at a special dinner organised by the Rotary Club of Windsor.

The awards recognise outstanding individual contributions to communitybased policing and acknowledges those who demonstrate a personal commitment to engagement and crime prevention above and beyond their job requirements.

Now in its 13th year, the annual Rotary Clubs of NSW Police Officer of the Year Awards was created through a partnership between the Rotary Clubs of NSW and the NSW Police Force and they are considered the most prestigious event in the NSW Police Force calendar.

The Hawkesbury PAC Commander’s Excellence in Police Award was won by Detective Senior Constable Gary Burns.

Police Award Winners
President windsor rotary club greg hoile and supt andrew garner with the winner of the bryson anderson police officer of the year award constable james de canto

The Hills Police Customer service Excellence Award was presented to veteran police officer Chief Inspector Phillip Brooks who has served for 36 years. He said he was humbled to receive the award which recognised his work in the areas of mental health and domestic violence and his work with at-risk youth and their families in finding meaningful pathways.

Hills PAC Constable of the Year Award was Hamish McKenzie and Field Operations police Constable of the year was Leading Senior Constable Shane Corcoran.

The Hawkesbury PAC Customer Service Excellence Award was won by Senior Constable Carmen Bagust. Presented by the Hawkesbury City Chamber of Commerce, this recognises outstanding service to the Hawkesbury community by a sworn officer.

The winner of the Hawkesbury Police Area Command award for Employee of the Year was won by Louise Steer. The award recognises the outstanding service to the Command by a civilian employee.

Each Police Area Command nominates finalists for a variety of categories. The winners across the State will attend the finals of The Rotary Clubs of NSW 2023 NSW Police Officer of the Year Awards on Friday 3 November 2023 at the Hyatt Regency. It is considered the most prestigious event in the NSW Police Force calendar.

Bev Jordan

Bev Jordan studied journalism at Harlow College in the UK.  She achieves a Diploma in Journalism from the National Council for the Training of Journalists. After migrating to Australia at the end of 1984, she took up a Senior Journalist position with Cumberland Newspapers, based on the Parramatta Advertiser. She has since worked on the Daily Telegraph, Sydney Morning Herald and was a lecturer in Journalism at Macleay College in Sydney. Bev returned to Cumberland Newspapers (NewsLocal) and worked for 30 years covering all different mastheads, including Mosman Daily, Mount Druitt Standard and finally Hills Shire Times for the last 17 of those years. Bev’s passion has always been local community journalism.  She says “As a journalist, I have always seen it as my job to inform, inspire and involve.  I am a passionate advocate for organisations and people making a difference to the world around them. Connectedness is so important to the health of an individual but also to a community, no matter how small or large.

Related Articles

Back to top button