Federal Election May 21st 2022

By Bev Jordan

Voting is compulsory in the Federal election May 21st, on Saturday.

There are 47 Federal Electorates in NSW and The Hills to Hawkesbury Community News delivers its magazines to bulk drops at four of them, Macquarie, Mitchell, Berowra and Greenway. Candidates names were drawn by ballot by staff from the Australian Electoral Commission to determine the order they appear on the ballot paper.

MACQUARIE will be one of the most-watched seats in Australia come this election. It is the Nation’s most marginal seat and is held by Labor MP Susan Templeman with a margin of just 371 votes. Templeman has been the Federal MP since 2016. There are 8 candidates vying for the seat. Liberal challenger and Hawkesbury councillor Sarah Richards has drawn the last spot on the ballot paper.

Macquarie covers a huge area including Windsor, Richmond and surrounding market gardening districts in Hawkesbury, as well as the Blue Mountains communities. In the last Federal election Liberals won all but one polling booth in the Hawkesbury LGA and Labor won all but one booth in the Blue Mountains LGA.

CANDIDATES Macquarie 2022 (in the order they appear on the ballot paper)
 Tony PETTITTPauline Hanson’s One Nation
Nicole EVANSUnited Australia Party
James JACKSONLiberal Democrats
Greg KEIGHTLEYAnimal Justice Party
Tony HICKEYGreens
Michelle PALMERInformed Medical Options
Sarah RICHARDSLiberal

MITCHELL is a very safe Liberal seat and is held by Alex Hawke with a margin of 18.6%. There are six candidates vying for the seat.

It covers an area of approximately 101 sq km from Maraylya and Box Hill in the northwest to Baulkham Hills and North Rocks in the southeast.

In 2019 Alex Hawke gained 68.6% of the 103,870 votes cast. He has held the seat since 2007 and has drawn the last spot on the ballot paper.

CANDIDATES Mitchell 2022 (in the order they appear on the ballot paper)
Clinton MEADLiberal Democrats
Linda DANIELUnited Australia Party
Matthew COXGreens
Immanuel SELVARAJLabor
Donald McKENZIE: Pauline Hanson’s One Nation
Alex HAWKELiberal

BEROWRA is a very safe Liberal seat held by Julian Leeser with a margin of 15.7%.

The electorate includes the suburbs of Pennant Hills, Cherrybrook, parts of Carlingford as well as Annangrove, Dural, Glenorie, Maroota and Wisemans Ferry.

Leeser was elected as the Liberal candidate in 2016 following the retirement of Philip Ruddock after 43 years in Parliament. There are 10 candidates vying for the seat.

CANDIDATES Berowra 2022 (in the order they appear on the ballot paper)
Nick SAMIOSLiberal Democrats
Tania SALITRAGreens
Rhiannon BOSMAPauline Hanson’s One Nation
Julian LEESERLiberal
Brendan CLARKE:  FUSION (Science, Pirate, Secular, Climate Emergency)
David LOUIEFederation party
Roger WOODWARD: Independent
Christopher MARTINICUnited Australia Party
Benjamin CASWELL: Independent

GREENWAY is a Labor seat held by Michelle Rowland with a margin of 2.8%. Rowland has held the seat since 2010.

It lies within Blacktown City Council and includes the suburbs of Vineyard, Kings Langley, Quakers Hill, Parklea, Stanhope Gardens, Glenwood, and Kellyville Ridge.

Election May 21StMark REXUnited Australia Party
Michelle ROWLANDLabor
Adam KACHWALLALiberal Democrats
Riccardo Umberto Guerrino BOSI: Independent
Love Preet Singh NANDA:  Independent
Rick TURNER: Pauline Hanson’s One Nation
Pradeep PATHILiberal
Damien ATKINSGreens

You can find your electorate at https://electorate.aec.gov.au

Pre-poll-Voting begins on Monday 9th May in each electorate. To find out more visit aec.gov.au or call the Australian Electoral Commission on 13 23 26.

Masterclass roofing
Search Results policy sport news news hills
A Noble Arborist