The winners of the 2017 Hawkesbury Sports Awards were announced at a special Presentation Night at Lynwood Country Club last Monday, 29 May.

This annual event, proudly sponsored by Hawkesbury City Council, Lynwood Country Club and Vintage FM acknowledges sporting accomplishments of community members as well as the contributions of individuals to sporting clubs through support roles.

This year’s inspirational winners were judged by Council’s Civic and Citizenship Committee, and are below:

• Sports Person of the Year – Jordan Maher
Jordan is a member of Hawkesbury Martial Arts and at just 19 years of age, Jordan is an extremely talented individual who was selected to represent Australia at the Senior Oceania Karate Championships in April. Only two athletes are selected per division from Australia and Jordan was one of them. Jordan is currently ranked number one in Australia in his age and weight category.

• Junior Sports Person of the Year – Nellie McMillan
Nellie is a member of Ski Racing Australia and Ski Racing NSW. She is a current NSW State Champion and Australian Champion and has recently been selected as the youngest ever member of the Australian Water Ski Racing Team to compete in the World Water Ski Racing Championships in Seattle, USA, in July/August, 2017. At just 12 years old, Nellie over the past few years has achieved many State and Australian titles.

• All Abilities Sports Person of the Year – Taylor Doyle
Born with Tuberous Sclerosis, Taylor commenced athletics at age nine. Taylor competed at the 2009 NSW State Championships in the under 18 triple jump and achieved an Australian Record of 8.11m. She competed internationally at the Special Olympics in Athens, Greece in 2011 and in Italy and France in 2013. Other impressive achievements include ninth place in long jump at the 2014 Australian Athletics Championships and a Silver Medal in long jump at the 2016 Paralympic Games in Brazil.

• Senior Sports Person of the Year – Kaye Hannan
Kaye has competed both in Australia and internationally in equestrian. Kaye competed in the Hong Kong International Para-Equestrian Dressage Championships in 2012 and won the Grade IV championship. Other noteworthy achievements include the Grade 3 Para-Equestrian Champion at the NSW Dressage Championships in 2016. Kaye also has worked tirelessly to establish Para-Equestrian in NSW, which has just had its first event at Equifest in Clarendon in March 2017.

• Team of the Year – Swimwest National Team
The members of this team competed in the 2016 National Age Swimming Championships in Adelaide with a total of seven individual swims. Swimwest Swimming Club are currently in the Swimming Australia top 25 for fastest times. The coach is Jonathon Carter and the members are Kira McInerny, Brieanna Hall, Harry Thomas, Calinda Cameron, and Joshua Homann.

• Official of the Year – Nick Keith
From Windsor Swim Club, Nick started his officiating career at the age of 15 by assisting with timekeeping. He became an accredited timekeeper and then took on the role of finish judge and recorder. Nick became a referee at age 19 and has been officiating at club, area and state level for a number of years. Nick is a referee at Windsor Swim Club’s club nights every Friday night and assists to arrange officials for their Summer and Winter Carnivals on a voluntary basis.

• Coach of the Year – Daniel Spice
Daniel, from Hawkesbury Martial Arts is a valued coach who is a great role model and is highly regarded amongst all clubs within the NSW State Karate Federation. His athletes have competed all over the world with great success. Hawkesbury Martial Arts was ranked the number one club in Australia at the Australian Open Karate Championships 2016.

• Sporting Excellence Medallion (seeks to recognise those who have made an outstanding contribution to, or represented the Hawkesbury in sport of any kind at a district or higher level for a minimum of five continuous years) – Alice Tarnawski Alice competes in sailing on a National and International basis and is a part of the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club Newport. In her early 20s, her international achievements include ninth in the Women’s Match Racing Championships in 2015, first in World University Match Racing Championships in 2016, and winner of national championships.

• Service to Sport Medallion
1st recipient – Steve Francis – 25 years
2nd recipient – Jarryd Keith – 15 years
3rd recipient – Donna Keith – 10 years
4th recipient – Marion Garnham – 10 years
5th recipient – Michael Hyslop – 5 years
6th recipient – Garry Carter – 5 years

Mayor of Hawkesbury, Councillor Mary Lyons-Buckett said, ‘I’m proud to say that the Hawkesbury Sports Awards program has been running since 2004 as a civic award program which was developed to recognise positive contributions to sport in the Hawkesbury.’

‘My sincere thanks goes to the members of our Civic and Citizenship Committee who thoughtfully assess every nomination for these awards. I also want to thank the Hawkesbury Sports Council for the contribution that they continue to make maintaining and managing a wide range of our sporting facilities and for their assistance with this Award Program’, she added.

Council is extremely grateful for the support of sponsors Lynwood Country Club and Vintage FM in making these awards possible.

Masterclass roofing
Positive Earthmoving

Recent News