AllBev JordanElection

State Election 2023

[vc_row][vc_column width=”1/6″ offset=”vc_col-lg-1/5 vc_col-md-1/5 vc_col-xs-1/5″][us_image image=”67173″ size=”thumbnail” align=”left” style=”circle” has_ratio=”1″][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/12″ offset=”vc_col-lg-4/5 vc_col-md-4/5 vc_col-xs-4/5″][vc_column_text]By Bev Jordan[/vc_column_text][us_post_date][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]
If it’s passed you by, there is a State Election on Saturday, 25th March.

Lodgement of nominations starts officially on Monday, February 27th and closes at noon on Monday, 8th March.

It won’t be until the following day that the full list of candidates and where they will be placed on the ballot paper will become clear with the ballot draw scheduled to take place in each State electorate at 10am Thursday March 9th.

For thousands of residents, the State Election will see them in a new State seat despite the fact that they haven’t moved house.

The electoral boundaries were redrawn In August 2021, to ensure the number of eligible voters in each district does not vary by more than 10 per cent from the average enrolment across all 93 electoral districts in NSW.

Some householders will find themselves in a neighbouring electorate as boundaries have subtly moved (Box Hill has moved from State seat of Castle Hill to the Hawkesbury State electorate) while the State seats of Baulkham Hills and Seven Hills have not only been redrawn but have had their names changed _ the reshaped electorates are now called Kellyville and Winston Hills.

While many names are already registered on the NSW Electoral Commission’s register of candidates, not all will be officially nominated.

To find out which seat you are in, or register to vote visit the NSW Electoral Commission website at www.elections.nsw.

We have included the State seats of Castle Hill, Kellyville, Hawkesbury and Riverstone in our coverage as they fall in our magazine’s distribution footprint.

CANDIDATES announced to date
LABOR: Tina Cartwright
LIBERAL : Mark Hodges: Deputy Mayor of Hills Shire Council
GREENS: Tina Kordrostan
INDEPENDENT: Nathan Gregory Organ:

LABOR: Amanda Rose Kotlash
INDEPENDENT: Angela Maguire
LIBERAL: Robyn Preston: Current Hawkesbury MP

LABOR: Alex Karki:
LIBERAL: Ray Williams: Current MP for Castle Hill.
GREENS: Thelma Ghayyem

LABOR: Warren Kirby
LIBERAL: Mohit Kumar
INDEPENDENT: Tabitha Ponnambalam
GREENS: Rob Vail

GREENS: Damien Atkins
LIBERAL : Mark Taylor: Current Seven Hills MP
INDEPENDENT: Palaniappan Subramanian
LABOR : Sameer Pandey: Parramatta Deputy Lord Mayor and Councillor

THE 2023 SEATS: CASTLE HILL: Annangrove, Baulkham Hills, Castle Hill, Dural, Glenhaven, Glenorie, Kenthurst, Middle Dural, West Pennant Hills.

HAWKESBURY: Agnes Banks, Berambing, Bilpin, Blaxlands Ridge, Bligh Park, Bowen Mountain, Box Hill, Cattai, Central Colo, Central Macdonald, Clarendon, Colo, Colo Heights, Cornwallis, Cumberland Reach, East Kurrajong, Ebenezer, Fernances, Freemans Reach, Gables, Glenorie, Glossodia, Grose Vale, Grose Wold, Higher Macdonald, Hobartville, Kenthurst, Kurmond, Kurrajong, Kurrajong Heights, Kurrajong Hills, Leets Vale, Lower Macdonald, Lower Portland, Maraylya, Maroota, McGraths Hill, Mellong, Mogo Creek, Mountain Lagoon, Mulgrave, Nelson, North Richmond, Oakville, Perrys Crossing, Pitt Town, Pitt Town Bottoms, Putty, Raaf Richmond, Richmond, Richmond Lowlands, Rouse Hill, Sackville, Sackville North, Scheyville, South Maroota, South Windsor, St Albans, Ten Mile Hollow, Tennyson, The Slopes, Upper Colo, Upper Macdonald, Vineyard, Webbs Creek, Wheeny Creek, Wilberforce, Windsor, Windsor Downs, Wisemans Ferry, Wrights Creek, Yarramundi.

KELLYVILLE: Baulkham Hills, Beaumont Hills, Bella Vista, Box Hill, Castle Hill, Kellyville, North Kellyville, Norwest, Rouse Hill.

RIVERSTONE: Acacia Gardens, Grantham Farm, Kellyville Ridge, Nirimba Fields, Parklea, Quakers Hill, Riverstone, Rouse Hill, Schofields, Stanhope Gardens, Tallawong, The Ponds, Vineyard.

WINSTON HILLS: Baulkham Hills, Blacktown, Constitution Hill, Glenwood, Kings Langley, Lalor Park, North Rocks, Northmead, Old Toongabbie, Pendle Hill, Seven Hills, Toongabbie, Wentworthville, Westmead, Winston Hills.

To check which seat you are in or to register to vote or register for a postal vote visit the NSW Electoral Commission website at

Early Voting opens 18th March. Postal vote applications close on 20th March 2023.

The NSW Electoral Commission has just launched The Stop and Consider campaign to reduce the spread of disinformation ahead of the State election.

It is encouraging voters to think about three things when they encounter electoral communications:
• Reliable: Is the information from a reliable source?
• Current: When was it published?
• Safe: Could it be a scam?

Election1 State Election 2023Election State Election 2023[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Bev Jordan

Bev Jordan studied journalism at Harlow College in the UK.  She achieves a Diploma in Journalism from the National Council for the Training of Journalists. After migrating to Australia at the end of 1984, she took up a Senior Journalist position with Cumberland Newspapers, based on the Parramatta Advertiser. She has since worked on the Daily Telegraph, Sydney Morning Herald and was a lecturer in Journalism at Macleay College in Sydney. Bev returned to Cumberland Newspapers (NewsLocal) and worked for 30 years covering all different mastheads, including Mosman Daily, Mount Druitt Standard and finally Hills Shire Times for the last 17 of those years. Bev’s passion has always been local community journalism.  She says “As a journalist, I have always seen it as my job to inform, inspire and involve.  I am a passionate advocate for organisations and people making a difference to the world around them. Connectedness is so important to the health of an individual but also to a community, no matter how small or large.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button