AllBev JordanCommunity NewsElection

State Election 2023

[vc_row][vc_column width=”1/6″ offset=”vc_col-lg-1/5 vc_col-md-1/5 vc_col-xs-1/5″][us_image image=”67173″ size=”thumbnail” align=”left” style=”circle” has_ratio=”1″][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/12″ offset=”vc_col-lg-4/5 vc_col-md-4/5 vc_col-xs-4/5″][vc_column_text]By Bev Jordan[/vc_column_text][us_post_date][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]
For thousands of residents, the State Election on Saturday, March 25th 2023, will see them in a new State seat despite the fact that they haven’t moved house.

The electoral boundaries were redrawn In August 2021, to ensure the number of eligible voters in each district does not vary by more than 10 per cent from the average enrolment across all 93 electoral districts in NSW. Some householders will find themselves in a neighbouring electorate as boundaries have subtly moved, one example is Box Hill which has moved from being in the State seat of Castle Hill to the Hawkesbury State electorate.

The State seats of Baulkham Hills and Seven Hills have not only been re-drawn significantly but they have had their names changed for the 2023 election with the newly redrawn electorates now called Kellyville and Winston Hills. There will be a lot of new faces on the electoral placards in the Hills to Hawkesbury area with Transport Minister David Elliott deciding not to contest this election.

While some candidates are already registered on the NSW Electoral Commission’s register of candidates, nominations are open until noon on March 8th. The draw to decide in what order candidates will appear on the ballot paper will be the following day.

To find out which seat you are in, or register to vote visit the NSW Electoral Commission website at

Candidates announced so far include current MPs (Robyn Preston, Ray Williams and Mark Taylor), current local councillors (Hills Deputy Mayor Mark Hodges, Parramatta Deputy Lord Mayor Sameer Pandey and Hawkesbury Councillor Amanda Kotlash) several small business owners (Angela Maguire, Tina Cartwright and Warren Kirby). Three candidates are former police prosecutors including Mohit Kumar. Alex Karki is a transport planning engineer. Independents standing include Nathan Organ and Palaniappan Subramanian.


LABOR: Tina Cartwright
LIBERAL: Mark Hodges: Deputy Mayor of Hills Shire Council
INDEPENDENT: Nathan Organ:


LABOR: Amanda Kotlash
INDEPENDENT: Angela Maguire
LIBERAL: Robyn Preston: Current Hawkesbury MP


LABOR: Alex Karki:
LIBERAL: Ray Williams: Current MP for Castle Hill.


LABOR: Warren Kirby
LIBERAL: Mohit Kumar


LABOR: Sameer Pandey: Parramatta Deputy Lord Mayor and Councillor
INDEPENDENT: Palaniappan Subramanian
LIBERAL: Mark Taylor: Current Seven Hills MP


CASTLE HILL: Annangrove, Baulkham Hills, Castle Hill, Dural, Glenhaven,
Glenorie, Kenthurst, Middle Dural, West Pennant Hills.


Agnes Banks, Berambing, Bilpin, Blaxlands Ridge, Bligh Park, Bowen Mountain, Box Hill, Cattai, Central Colo, Central Macdonald, Clarendon, Colo, Colo Heights, Cornwallis, Cumberland Reach, East Kurrajong, Ebenezer, Fernances, Freemans Reach, Gables, Glenorie, Glossodia, Grose Vale, Grose Wold, Higher Macdonald, Hobartville, Kenthurst, Kurmond, Kurrajong, Kurrajong Heights, Kurrajong Hills, Leets Vale, Lower Macdonald, Lower Portland, Maraylya, Maroota, McGraths Hill, Mellong, Mogo Creek, Mountain Lagoon, Mulgrave, Nelson, North Richmond, Oakville, Perrys Crossing, Pitt Town, Pitt Town Bottoms, Putty, Raaf Richmond, Richmond, Richmond Lowlands, Rouse Hill, Sackville, Sackville North, Scheyville, South Maroota, South Windsor, St Albans, Ten Mile Hollow, Tennyson, The Slopes, Upper Colo, Upper Macdonald, Vineyard, Webbs Creek, Wheeny Creek, Wilberforce, Windsor, Windsor Downs, Wisemans Ferry, Wrights Creek, Yarramundi.


Baulkham Hills, Beaumont Hills, Bella Vista, Box Hill, Castle Hill, Kellyville, North Kellyville, Norwest, Rouse Hill.


Acacia Gardens, Grantham Farm, Kellyville Ridge, Nirimba Fields, Parklea, Quakers Hill, Riverstone, Rouse Hill, Schofields, Stanhope Gardens, Tallawong, The Ponds, Vineyard.


Baulkham Hills, Blacktown, Constitution Hill, Glenwood, Kings Langley, Lalor Park, North Rocks, Northmead, Old Toongabbie, Pendle Hill, Seven Hills, Toongabbie, Wentworthville, Westmead, Winston Hills.

To find out which seat you are in, or register to vote visit the NSW Electoral Commission website at[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

Election Lots Of People Voting State Election 2023

Bev Jordan

Bev Jordan studied journalism at Harlow College in the UK.  She achieves a Diploma in Journalism from the National Council for the Training of Journalists. After migrating to Australia at the end of 1984, she took up a Senior Journalist position with Cumberland Newspapers, based on the Parramatta Advertiser. She has since worked on the Daily Telegraph, Sydney Morning Herald and was a lecturer in Journalism at Macleay College in Sydney. Bev returned to Cumberland Newspapers (NewsLocal) and worked for 30 years covering all different mastheads, including Mosman Daily, Mount Druitt Standard and finally Hills Shire Times for the last 17 of those years. Bev’s passion has always been local community journalism.  She says “As a journalist, I have always seen it as my job to inform, inspire and involve.  I am a passionate advocate for organisations and people making a difference to the world around them. Connectedness is so important to the health of an individual but also to a community, no matter how small or large.

Related Articles

Back to top button