Nepean Fa Turns 60

By Lawrence Machado

The Nepean Football Association, which administers the game for the Hawkesbury, Penrith, St. Marys, and Blue Mountains districts, recently celebrated their diamond jubilee, with plans to enhance their presence and reach in the future.

The association oversees a passionate and busy membership with more than 1110 teams competing in the winter competition, catering to around 13,000 players. During summer competitions, numbers could increase, making this one of the biggest organisations in Sydney.

The association said while the COVID-19 pandemic stole their opportunity to celebrate their big 60 years milestone in style, it didn’t dampen the enthusiasm of their two whollyowned entities, Nepean Representative Football Club and Nepean Referees Group, to continue to develop their strategic plan for the districts.

NFA boss Linda Cerone congratulated the new board of directors for 2022, and the management committees for Nepean Representative FC and Nepean Referees Group, who were elected during the recent AGM.

France Refalo was selected chairperson of the eight-person NFA board of directors, while Dominic Michallef is the president of the football association Representative FC management committee.

“We encourage all members of the club to consider becoming involved in some way,” Cerone said. Nathan Marlan will head the Nepean Referees Group committee, with Steve Baskett as his vice president. The 2022 season is expected to be off and running by April, if all goes according to plan.

NFA Board of Directors: Frances Refalo (Chairperson); Greg Beuchner; Stacey Fanella; Steve Hurley; Gail Macleod-Jones; Martin Ryan; Dianne Skuthorpe; Alana Spicer
NRFC committee: Dominic Michallef (president); Branka Popovic (Secretary); Financial Officer (casual vacancy)
NRG committee: Nathan Marland (president); Steven Baskett (vice president); Brian Scott (education and training officer); Robert Young (appointments officer); Graham Chapman (memberships & recruitment officer); Liza Buckley (general Committee).
To join the committee or support the association, please email: [email protected].


Reactive Plumbing