Local Government Election – The Hills Shire

The Hills Shire Local Government Election will be held on Saturday 9 September 2017, from 8am to 6pm.

For the first time, residents will elect a Mayor who will serve on The Hills Shire Council for the next three years.

Residents will also vote for an additional 12 councillors, three councillors representing each of the four wards – North Ward, Central Ward, East Ward and West Ward.

Voting is compulsory for everyone enrolled in The Hills Shire Council area, so now is the time for everyone to check their enrolment details to make sure they are up-to-date.

To check your details and for everything you need to know about the upcoming election, visit the NSW Electoral Commission website: www.votensw.info or call 1300 135 736.

To make a claim to be included on the roll of non-resident owners of rateable land or the roll of occupiers and rate paying lessees, see Council’s website for the appropriate forms: www.thehills.nsw.gov.au.

Completed forms must be returned to Council prior to 6pm on Monday, 31 July 2017.

If you are unable to vote on election day, you may be eligible to cast a pre-poll vote.

Pre-poll voting opens Monday, 28 August and closes Friday, 8 September. Pre-poll votes can be cast at either the Sydney Town Hall, Baulkham Hills Pre-Poll (located at The Hills Shire Council at 3 Columbia Court, Baulkham Hills) or at The Hills Returning Officer’s Office (located at Level 2, 72-74 Cecil Avenue, Castle Hill).

The NSW Electoral Commission is managing the election.

For more information about eligibility and how to vote, please visit the NSW Electoral Commission website.